1. There are several interesting buildings in the village apart from those already
mentioned. A very picturesque black and white house is very outstanding (see illustration 12). This house is so old, it has had to be repaired and patched up many times. It possessed a thatched roof at one time, but this has had to be replaced by tiles. This Tudor residence gives a touch of “old world beauty” to this part of the village.
12. THE BLACK AND WHITE HOUSE
Looking out from the garden of this house, we see an exceptionally lovely scene (see illustration 11).
11. STUBBS FARM SEEN FROM THE BLACK AND WHITE HOUSE
2. Fulford Hall
This old mansion has been standing for over a century and is the proud possessor of an “oak room” and a solid oak staircase and has three floors. A very prominent feature of this mansion is the number of windows, which are still bricked up, although the “Window Tax” was repealed in 1851. What a pity it was that in those days sunlight and fresh air were taxed! (The Window Tax had to be paid on all windows, over a minimum number).
There is an excellent view of the village from Fulford Hall, because of its lofty position. The largest farm in the village adjoins this residence and its lands stretch almost to Saverley Green. The present owner represents the village on the Stone Rural District Council.
3. Fulford Manor
Why this house is called by this name is not known, unless as stated previously, a family of means named Fulford once lived there. This house is similar in structure to Fulford Hall. The rooms are large, and the ceilings have oak beams. (See illustration umber 13).
A stone quarry lies at the rear of the Manor. The present one is not considered to be the original structure.
13. FULFORD MANOR FARM